Menu

Civilian Training

Civilian Training

Basic Civilian Handgun Training

This is a five-hour basic firearms course. There are no prerequisites for this class. Students will learn about laws pertaining to firearms and gain hands-on experience in firing a weapon.

Upon Completion of this course you’ll receive the Certificate of Handgun Training required by the FL Dept. of Agriculture to include as part of your application for a Concealed Weapon Permit.

  • Students must be eligible to own and/or possess a firearm in FL. (info found in Florida State Statute 790)
  • Students must bring a handgun (semi-auto pistol or revolver) in good working order,
  • Student must bring 50 rounds of factory ammunition (no reloads) per person,
  • Student must bring Holster (no shoulder holsters), gun bag, or gun case,
  • Student must bring Visor or brimmed Hat.
  • Students should wear loose fitting clothing with a shirt that buttons up to the neck or that has a high neckline (no open collars allowed on the range for safety)
  • Student must wear good comfortable shoes.
  • Students may also want to bring drinking water, personal sun block, bug repellant, and rain attire.
     

* Clear eye protection and hearing protection (ear plugs and or muffs) will be provided for the students that don’t have their own.

All courses will be held at the North Bay Campus, Public Safety/EOC Building, 700 County Road 2300, Southport, FL 32409

Register Online

Course Listings

 

Sat, Apr 8, 8:00 am – 1:00 pm
North Bay Campus, Public Safety Building Rm 108
CRN: 91125 | Course: XCS 0004 | Fee: $65

 Sat, May 13, 8:00 am – 1:00 pm
North Bay Campus, Public Safety Building Rm 108
CRN: 91126 | Course: XCS 0004 | Fee: $65

 Sat, Jun 10, 8:00 am – 1:00 pm
North Bay Campus, Public Safety Building Rm 108
CRN: 95031 | Course: XCS 0004 | Fee: $65

 Sat, Aug 12, 8:00 am – 1:00 pm
North Bay Campus, Public Safety Building Rm 108
CRN: 95032| Course: XCS 0004 | Fee: $65

 


Advanced Civilian Handgun Training

This is an eight-hour advanced handgun course. Students must have documented proof that they have taken either the Firearms Education and Familiarization Course or an equivalent Basic Firearms Course for Civilians prior to admission into this course.

Students will review Florida handgun laws and gain more hands-on training using both the firearms range drills and be put through scenarios using our state of the art “use of force” simulator.

Advanced Class ( 8 hours) 8a-4p, (Lunch Break, lunch not provided).

Provide your own Weapon and ammunition, Minimum 100 rounds of Ammunition, Gun Cleaning equipment, Eye and Ear Protection.

  • Students must be eligible to own and/or possess a firearm in FL. (info found in Florida State Statute 790)
  • Students must bring a handgun (semi-auto pistol or revolver) in good working order,
  • Student must bring 100 rounds of factory ammunition (no reloads) per person,
  • Student must bring Holster for shooting while on the firing line (no shoulder holsters, gun bag, or gun cases will be allowed for shooting from the line).
  • Student must bring clear eye protection and hearing protection (ear plugs and or muffs).
  • Student must bring Visor or brimmed Hat.
  • Students should wear loose fitting clothing with a shirt that buttons up to the neck or that has a high neckline (no open collars allowed on the range for safety)
  • Student must wear good comfortable shoes.
  • Students may also want to bring drinking water, personal sun block, bug repellant, and rain attire.

Register Online

Course Listings
Sat, Jul 8, 8:00 am – 4:00 pm
North Bay Campus, Public Safety Building Rm 108
CRN: 95033 | Course: XCS 0002 | Fee: $85

Basic Shotgun Course

This is a four hour familiarization course. You will learn the skills of how to handle and operate a shotgun. This course is appropriate for someone who is interested in owning a shotgun and has little or no training in using a shotgun. It can also serve as a good refresher course.

  • We will provide the shotgun and ammunition.
  • We will provide the hearing and eye protection if you do not own your own.
  • Student must bring Visor or brimmed Hat.
  • Student must wear good comfortable shoes.
  • Students may also want to bring drinking water, personal sun block, bug repellant, and rain attire.
Course Listings
Sat, Jun 3, 9:00 am – 1:00 pm
North Bay Campus, Public Safety Building Rm 108
CRN: 95034 | Course: XCS 0017 | Fee: $65
Sat, Aug 19, 9:00 am – 1:00 pm
North Bay Campus, Public Safety Building Rm 108
CRN: 95035 | Course: XCS 0017 | Fee: $65

HR-218 / Retired Police Officer Training

This is a 4-hour firearms course for Retired Law Enforcement Officer.

Students will learn about current laws pertaining to retire police officer firearms carry, best management practices for safe and responsible gun handling and ownership.

The student is also required to pass a 40-round FDLE Qualification Course of fire before being issued an annual permit. Basic Requalification (40 round course of Fire) (4hours) 9a-1p.

Current information provided on House Bill 218 and with qualification card issued.

Shooter must provide valid Identification card with current address and Retirement Credentials from your agency.

Shooter must provide the weapon and ammunition you intend to qualify with, Minimum 50 rounds of Ammunition per weapon per qualification,

MAXIMUM of (2) attempts to qualify, limited to two weapons (semi-auto, revolver), Eye, Ear Protection and holster is required, Gun Cleaning equipment optional with an area for cleaning the weapon provided.

Register Online

Course Listings

 Fri, Feb 17 | 9:00am – 1:00pm
North Bay Campus / Public Safety Building Room #109
CRN: TBA | Course XCS-0006 | Fee: $50.00

 Fri, TBA, 9:00am – 1:00pm
North Bay Campus / Public Safety Building Room #108
CRN: TBA | Course XCS-0006 | Fee: $50.00

 

Top