CJ Training Academy: Required Training for Persons Seeking Florida Re-Certification
If you have in the past successfully completed a Florida Basic Recruit Training program in either Corrections, Correctional Probation or Law Enforcement, and were once affiliated with a Florida criminal justice agency, but have a four or more year break in service, you will be required to apply for an Exemption from basic training and either demonstrate proficiency in certain subject areas, or complete a High Liability Review Course and take the State Certification Exam. At Gulf Coast State College we do not do proficiency demonstrations nor do we offer the Review Course.
IMPORTANT: If you have been gone from your last job more than 8 years, then you must re-take the entire basic academy to become certified.
NOTE: Once your exemption has been approved you must demonstrate proficiency or take the Review Course and pass the state exam within 12 months of receiving your exemption. If you fail to complete this requirement, you must take the full basic training academy to become certified. The state exam is NOT offered as part of the Review Course, it is given at a different location and time by the Florida Department of Law Enforcement. You can obtain information about test dates and locations and register for the exam at this website: http://www.pearsonvue.com/fdle/.
To apply for an exemption, print out and complete the Equivalency of Training application here or from the Officer Reinstatement page. Follow the instructions in the application and return it to the Criminal Justice Selection Center. If you have any questions or need assistance you may contact the Criminal Justice Selection Center at 850.873.3582 or by email at firstname.lastname@example.org.